Excuses are like armpits. Everyone has them, and they all stink.

So. I should be practicing my violin right now, but I’m going to write a blog instead.

Lately in chapel we’ve been learning about stewardship and giving.

Well, like everyone else in the world, I am poor. I am a poor college student. I don’t have extra money to give. Yeah, I just bought a new camera on Amazon….But it’s my money. I worked for it. So. I deserve that camera. Well, yeah I went shopping too… but I really need new clothes. You know? My other ones are kind of out of style. Anyways, now I’m poor and I don’t have any more money to give. Yeah, I went to two movies over spring break…. But it wasn’t that much and I wanted to have fun.

And they say that even if you really don’t have the money, you can give of your time. But seriously?? I have soooooo much homework. I know…. I spent a lot of time on facebook last week. Yeah,  I just sat at home some on spring break. But I. Am. Tired. I work so hard at school.

Puh-lease.

I’m sick of my own excuses, and yours too, actually. We all have them, and they all stink.

We’re richer than like…what…98% of the world’s population? I don’t know if that’s completely accurate, but it’s definately a ridiculous ratio.

Sacrifice is a word I REALLY want to become intimate with. I want it for all Christians. We truly believe that cars, cable, ipods, computers, huge houses, fashionable clothes, etc. are necessity, but it’s LUXURY. We don’t give if it’s a sacrifice for us. We give out of our surplus, and even then, only sometimes. People are drowning in debt with huge houses and fancy cars–sell them! They don’t mean anything. I’m saying this for myself, mostly. I don’t have a super fancy car, and I don’t own a house, but boy, am I spoiled.

I don’t want to be completely caught up with personal gain, and I am sometimes. I don’t want to be any more. I don’t want to think, “Well, I’m grumpy today, so everyone can get over it. The sad girl in the corner can just suck it up because everyone’s life sucks in some ways.” That sounds TERRIBLE, but I honestly have thought things like that at times. I’m sure I’m not the only one. But do you want to lower your standards to everyone elses, or create higher standards for yourself and go farther?

Jesus, teach me to give freely, even if it’s a sacrifice. Teach me to obey your command to give cheerfully of my time and money and talents. Use me, and open doors for me to bless others with the things you’ve chosen to bless me with. Help me to be a light to others and a model of how you bless those who bless others. Help our family to be sincere in everything we do, and to become intimate with sacrifice, as You were.

Amen.

About allisonelainecassidy

Dreamer. Christian. Singer-songwriter-musician-writer. Learning all I can about the world, taking chances while I have nothing to lose. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment